Too lazy to blog

I found out that I can destroy my attention span better with Facebook than anything else. So please send me a friend request under my name, Jane Jeong Trenka.

You can also find my little organization that could, Truth and Reconciliation for the Adoption Community of Korea (TRACK), at www.adoptionjustice.com and on Facebook.

See you there🙂

6 responses to “Too lazy to blog

  1. I just finished reading her blog posts and it is very evident that she has a chip on her shoulder about anyone “white” and western influence. ” Think about your white neighbor, for instance. You understand and treat your white neighbor as a human being with thoughts, feelings, and dignity — as opposed to the zoo animals that some people seem to think we are. We are human beings too.” From her blog. Now before you all jump on me for being racist understand I am bi-racial who’s mother was disowned by her father and who has faced racism from family on my fathers side because I am half “white”. I have had to defend myself because of my skin color or lack there of or because of my parents. Although I have empathy for – Jane Jeong Trenka I have more sympathy for the children of this world that are given up for adoption -as she was… Are being/ have been abused as she was… And do not get the blessing of having a family to take care of them as she did. I am very happy to read in her blog that her mother found her and they were able to have such a good relationship. Truly, I am and I wish the best for her. However, if I returned to Korea again and we decided to adopt a child I feel I would just be labelled just a “white neighbor” with more racial stereotypes rather than someone trying to help a child with no family. Family is not a right by birth. Family are those that are there to love, aid and protect you. Many of the children in this world are not given anything from their birthparents. And when I write given anything I do not speak of monetary items. I am speaking of the love and care I mentioned before. This women says nothing in her blog of the parents that adopted and raised her and were there for her while she had the chance to grow and gain an education. How many would jump at the opportunity she had? And if you have not been to Korea or other Asian countries you would not understand the stigma there is for unwed mothers and for children with special needs. There is need for reform for single mothers but mr. Morrison is correct that it should not be at the expense of any child’s well being. One final note… Many Asian women such as my mother in-law feel adopting another persons child is very bad. So if one thinks that the children in Korea will just be adopted in Korea by Korean parents or other Asian families you may be very wrong. Change starts first with a persons culture and if a culture ostracizes children because they are orphans, children of a single mother or special needs how are these children better off?

  2. Your comments on Facebook and your ideas about adoption have left me in tears. As an American woman with a Korean-American husband, who is infertile, and cannot have children of her own, I am in tears. Was your adoption experience really that bad? Woudl you really have babies live their childhood in a group home rather than be adopted, because at least they’re in their home country? Would you really deny me the opportunity (through a valid, reputable, adoption agency, I might add) to have my own child? Are you really that unsympathetic? Although you have repudiated your American adoptive parents and have moved to Korea, and seemingly severed all ties with your horrible American experience, dont’ you think some children would have good experiences here? Please help me understand, because I don’t.

  3. Hi Jane

    My name is Brian and I am a Canadian who is of Korean heritage. I was blessed to be born and raised by my birth parents so I cannot say I understand to any real capacity your story and your experience as a Korean adoptee in the USA. Unlike your blog title, I hope (and feel) that there is more to you than being a bitter angry ajumma. I agree with you that adoptions in the past in S. Korea have been completed without much thought or concern to future effects on the loss that would be felt by both adopted children and their birth mother or parents. But not all adoptees feel the way you do (I have known and currently have friends who have been adopted not only from Korea but also from other international adoptions and from many other adoption situations including domestic adoptions here in Canada). Without intending to offend you or your experiences, it is my opinion that you only focus on the negative (unfortunately your experience and loss). As you likely know S. Korea, post the Korean war (technically still on-going), had so many parents who had died or were so poor and desolate that there was such a need for orphanages to take care of all the infants and children. Korean war veterans of the USA and Canada, that I have spoken to, often recall babies, infants, and children who were parentless or abandoned, they would see along the sides of rural roads or city streets. Decisions at that time had to be made quickly, perhaps even hastily, to solve the epidemic of starving, sick, and dying children, and so orphanages sponsored by international aid were started. On a side note, none of the orphanages were organized or funded domestically immediately after the war had ceased because Koreans were in no mental or financial conditions to help their own people. And it took decades for Koreans to begin overcoming an ego-centric life perspective because life in a war torn country is harsh and bitter. Someone had to take care of the babies that were born with mother’s dying soon after birth (which was more common than you would think) and of course the babies born out of wedlock. The solution of promoting international adoption of infants and children who could not be cared for in Korea especially for the initial urgent epidemic became a process which gave rise to a protocol which then grew into a system. With the increasing numbers of orphans overwhelming a make shift system, international adoptions from S. Korea was born (sorry, no pun intended). It is my opinion that this system was never really revised and its process and goals never revisited (which I think were the issues and concerns that you had, still have). Not endorsing the negative sides to international adoption, I do feel that the Korean international adoption program started with humble beginnings and good intentions. I have read your interview and as well Steve Choi Morrison’s on CNN recently and can easily see the benefits that international adoption had in Steve’s life (he likely would have not survived). I deeply sympathize with you for your situation and loss of your life with your birth mother and birth family. Again, I have no idea what that would feel like and how that would effect my identity. I realize you were adopted decades after the Armistice Agreement, where the adoption programs that were meant to assist Korean infants and society had grown into something it was, at times, not meant to become. There was and still is a definite ugly side to international adoption no matter which countries are involved including both adoptee and adopting countries.
    What I fear is that you too have oversimplified a complex situation and have pressured a law in Korea without thinking of all the possible future effects. What I hear when reading the CNN report about the new adoption law in S. Korea is the strong anti-international adoption tone. My first questions to you is to address the large (and increasing) populations of Korean families who wish to adopt a Korean child from Korea. Local adoptions are not taking place in Korea for a variety of reasons, but people who are of Korean heritage living outside Korea are embracing the idea of adoption, especially from S. Korea. As you have experienced yourself, Korean’s who live outside the borders of Korea are particularly proud of simply being Korean in heritage and embrace their Korean culture, they would obviously like the option and opportunity to adopt from S. Korea as well. My second question to you is what do you say to Korean adoptees around the world who have had tremendously positive experiences with international adoption, contrary to your own, and moreover, would now like to adopt internationally from Korea as well?

  4. yyenny83@yahoo.com

    fuck you!!

  5. Pingback: Too lazy to weblog | Posts

Thank you for visiting my blog. I no longer have time to update this blog regularly, but I appreciate your comments, even though I cannot respond to all of them. All comments (except spam) have been allowed to go through unmoderated since June 16, 2014. Any comments you see prior to that date have been read and approved by me. Thanks again, and wishing you peace and blessings.

