Police web site for missing people

신경하

Missing girl, 4 years old at the time. Now 42 years old.

Date of birth: July 25, 1970

Date of disappearance: May 9, 1975 

She said she was going to her grandmother’s house, and then she disappeared.

Somebody asked me if there is a web site in Korea for missing people. I still haven’t found an efficient way to post all of the listings of children who I think may have been adopted overseas, but you can use these links to look through the web site yourself.

Here are the listings for people that disappeared. Families are searching for them.

Here are the listings for individuals who have been found somewhere in Korea, and the authorities are trying to find their families.

 Here is the homepage, including an English menu. You can find applications for overseas adoptees and DNA there. I am not sure how well they respond to English requests on this site; I have no experience with this web site.

May all your wishes come true in the New Year.

8 responses to “Police web site for missing people

  1. How common is it for adoptees to have been actually kidnapped? Was this practice continued into the 1980s?

  2. No one knows for sure, but I think that what seems most common is kidnapping by family members (well-meaning grandmothers or aunts). I am not certain, but it seems that this would have continued into the 1980s.

  3. I was on this site back when I lived in Korea. I used to get photos of missing children on my electric bill. I was surprised how many missing kids there are in Korea. I do wonder if some were adopted out back when there wasn’t internet, and when there wasn’t strict adoption laws. Some kids missing from Korea happened in the 2000s and 1990s too. I have have a hunch those were traficked or killed by child molesters.

  4. I asked one of my Korean co-workers about the missing children and he shrugged if off saying “sometimes kids just don’t come home from school”. In Korea most kids walked to school by themselves and played outside without an adult always there. It’s so different from what I am used to. It looks like the missing people are “swept under the rug” and people aren’t worried about kidnapping.

  5. Donna eusebio

    Why are you not in contact with your adoptive parents? Do you blame them for your illegal or mismanaged adoption?

  6. Pingback: Police site for lacking individuals | Posts

  7. Pingback: Police website for lacking individuals | Posts

  8. Invaluable post . I was fascinated by the information , Does anyone know where my company might be able to get access to a sample CT DRS CT-990T version to complete ?

Thank you for visiting my blog. I no longer have time to update this blog regularly, but I appreciate your comments, even though I cannot respond to all of them. All comments (except spam) have been allowed to go through unmoderated since June 16, 2014. Any comments you see prior to that date have been read and approved by me. Thanks again, and wishing you peace and blessings.

