One more day left of work

One more day left of work! I’ll take a couple of weeks of vacation, and then start studying Korean language in September for one year. Textbooks put me right to sleep, so that means I am actually giving myself one year to sit around and read comic books and watch movies in Korean, and improve my noraebang skills.

I was feeling a little nostalgic about going to work for my last evening shift. (I still have to work in day shift on Monday). Today the garage door worked, so that meant I got to ride my bike to work today and pass by my favorite places. Here you can see that Gwanghwamun is finally visible again after years of restoration. You can see Gyeongbok Palace through the door.

Gwanghwamun is pretty much all new, but there are some historic stone objects that they incorporated. Here’s the animal called “Haetae,” which is used around temples and palaces to protect them from fire. (They should have had more of them around orphanages!)

“Haechi” is the name of the haetae who is Seoul’s mascot. Here’s Haechi in action.

A view of Gwanghwamun from Sejong-ro, which is the main thoroughfare in downtown Seoul. Click here to see wonderful photos of the same area and buildings back in the Joseon Dynasty (before Japanese colonial occupation).

Funny little potted hydro garden in a park, with Gwanghwamun in the background.

And here, a pond with the prettiest lilies.

Independence Day is this weekend! Mansei!

2 responses to “One more day left of work

  1. “Textbooks put me right to sleep” How did you ever become a good writer?

  2. Not by reading Korean language textbooks!

Thank you for visiting my blog. I no longer have time to update this blog regularly, but I appreciate your comments, even though I cannot respond to all of them. All comments (except spam) have been allowed to go through unmoderated since June 16, 2014. Any comments you see prior to that date have been read and approved by me. Thanks again, and wishing you peace and blessings.

