Adoptee goes to work

Well, dang the garage door for being broken. I couldn’t get my bicycle out so I had to take the bus to work today. Here I go walking from my house to the busstop. (I identify as the pink beaver. My friend does not like the pink beaver because her name is “Loopy” and she conforms to gender stereotypes. Well, OK, I can see that. But anyway this is the song that is often in my head when I’m just walking around.)

I got off the bus at Gwanghwamun station and started walking. What did I see? Oh goodness!!

UNICEF campaign to save the African and Southeast Asian children! All you rich Koreans — pony up to save the poor, poor children of other countries!

Across the street from the UNICEF campaign — the Body Shop is campaigning to “Stop trafficking of children and young people.” Underneath it says in Korean, “Campaign to protect the human rights of children and youth.” (아동 -청소년 인권보호 갬페인).

Naturally, I went into the store with some TRACK flyers and said right back at them, “인권보호 갬페인 입니다!” Campaign to protect human rights! They looked at me like, “wtf”?

La la la la la la la la la laaaaaa …

Then I walked down the stairs into the subway to cross the street and stopped at a coffee shop to get an iced coffee and a snack. La la la la la la la la la la….. HEY! Why do you guys keep wrecking my la la la happy inner song? (sound of needle scratching record — screeeeech!)

Me: “Why is it called ‘Bushman’?”

Cashier: “Because it’s from an English movie.”

Me: “What does Bushman mean?”

Cashier: “It’s from Africa.”

Me: “Well, is it called that because it’s a flavor?”

Cashier: “No, it’s because it’s black.”

When I got to work, I let my co-worker try out some of my Bushman Bread. She said the Bushman Bread tastes like the bread they have at the Outback Steakhouse. She’s a Korean American and she said she lets all this kind of stuff slide in Korea, but she also shared this old, but still relevant article, on Nazi decor in Korea.

Closer to work, I walked by the American Embassy. You can see how well the Korean police guard American interests. These guys are the military police, so they are made up of young conscripts.

Here you can see their new SWAT vehicle.

And then I walked two more blocks and I was at work.

La la la la la la la la la la……..

I think I am going to do a crazy interview with a Korean newspaper tomorrow. I just found out that the reason why they’ve been trying to get a hold of me is because they want to talk about the importance of English education and globalization.

Yeah, so I will just use it as an opportunity to do some public education or at least a 1-on-1 educational moment with a Korean journalist. Let’s talk about how my English got so good and I got so globalized.  Why not, I don’t mind a good challenge after lunch.  La la la la la la la la la la laaaaaaaaa……

3 responses to “Adoptee goes to work

  1. go girl

  2. your f@#$ing hilarious!
    so your now a married bitter angry ajumma , how’d he get so lucky?

  3. Pingback: red, white, blue, yellow « Hello Korea !

Thank you for visiting my blog. I no longer have time to update this blog regularly, but I appreciate your comments, even though I cannot respond to all of them. All comments (except spam) have been allowed to go through unmoderated since June 16, 2014. Any comments you see prior to that date have been read and approved by me. Thanks again, and wishing you peace and blessings.

