Kimchi: the other white meat

I don’t blog so much anymore, but I was cleaning some pictures off my phone tonight. So that’s why I got three new blog posts in one day, plus a fabulous new header that shows me just going for my inner angry ajumma. I am blossoming into all that I can beeee!!!!!

Anyway, I sometimes get the sinking feeling that a lot of Koreans don’t really get the minority consciousness thing. I wonder why that is?

Here’s a closeup of the “Black boy” mascot on this Lotte ice cream …

that says “Black Crunch” in English and “Black Coon” in Korean. Black. Coon.

Found on the street in Hongdae in an open air street market. I was only interested enough to take a picture because it was in Hongdae. I’m used to seeing blackface figurines in bars where the theme is “jazz.”

Oh hey! This one finally made it online just so you can see how stupid it is:

Now, here’s a good one. People descended from Mongolians needed to use an “Indian” motif so they could sing about an arrow.

Now, which adoptee wants to explain to Koreans about the racial discrimination and stereotypes in Western countries? Do you really think that Korean culture is all steeped in ancient Confucianism blah blah blah, and that they really know what they’re doing when they send us to foreign countries? So many time I’ve listened to Koreans talk about what they think is America and I’m just thinking, “You must be kidding me. It is taking all my physical energy just to hold my puke in.”

Now go cleanse your ears with some Public Enemy!!

3 responses to “Kimchi: the other white meat

  1. Jane you are too funny but so right. Thank you for the cleansing at the end.

  2. Wow! Some of this stuff reminds me so much of India (lived and worked there for a few years). There was also a controversial bar in Mumbai with the same exact “Hitler decor” uproar– the owner thought it would be so “cool” and was shocked that people would find it offensive. There is also quite a but of dislike towards Africans but I haven’t seen blackface type stuff– but rude stares and suspicions. Also people call East Asian looking people “chinky” as a description and seemed completely oblivious to the negative connotation of that particular terminology.

    This sort of stuff just makes me realize that discrimination/ stereotyping and racism are not unique to one country…

  3. Hi! I am reading your memoir at the moment and I happened across your blog. Just reading this post, I was just thinking that the “쿤” in “까마쿤” is probably not really the “coon” we think about in the US; it seems to me the whole thing is about the ice cream being chocolate-y, which makes it black/dark, and you could say, commenting in Korean, “It’s black” and the comment could be “까마쿤.” This if not to say that discrimination and bad taste doesn’t reside in Korea, but I have noticed that there are times when Koreans are COMPLETELY oblivious to how crazy offensive they sound. Like the fact that people point out to your face if you are fat/ugly/flat-nosed/flat-chested/etc. and don’t think anything about it. It’s nuts. So maybe this ice cream wasn’t exactly checked for, um, cultural offensiveness. (I don’t think a lot of people in Korea, especially those working for an ice cream’s marketing department, have any idea the horrible connotation of the word “coon.” Just a thought.) I also find it weird that the “black boy” mascot seems to have horns?? Or are those ears? And the fro suggests a black person, but not the face? None of this makes sense, but that seems to be the case in a lot of countries outside of the US that tries to incorporate English and American culture into their marketing and advertising.

Thank you for visiting my blog. I no longer have time to update this blog regularly, but I appreciate your comments, even though I cannot respond to all of them. All comments (except spam) have been allowed to go through unmoderated since June 16, 2014. Any comments you see prior to that date have been read and approved by me. Thanks again, and wishing you peace and blessings.

