Here we go again … and again …

When will they learn that the adoptees cannot be expected to navigate Korean-language Web sites?

Here’s the board of Koreans looking for adoptees — on the Korean site — 8 entries already on what is the successor to GAIPS which had the same problem:

http://www.kcare.or.kr/board/board_list.jsp?bcode=03_1

GUESS WHAT!? NO TRANSLATION.

Here we even have a photo of a big identifiable white French guy,  but who’s going to ever find this on the Korean site? http://www.kcare.or.kr/board/board_view.jsp?no=7&listSize=10&pageNo=1&bcode=03_1 Obviously SOMEBODY knows where these kids went if the family has a picture,  so why does the family have to post on a board where the adoptees are never going to find it??? Why doesn’t the agency help these people? Why doesn’t KCARE just look it up on their database, which has the name and birthdate, Korean agency and foreign agency, plus adoptive name of every adoptee who legally went out of the country?? WHY WHY WHY!?

And here we have the board in English — NO ENTRIES. NO DUPLICATE ENTRIES WITH TRANSLATIONS FROM THE KOREAN BOARD.

http://www.kcare.or.kr/en3/board/board_list.jsp?bcode=22_1

This is very very basic. TRANSLATION. Hello. How are families supposed to find each other if we can’t even navigate through the Web site!? This is so completely stupid and shows the absolutely utter lack of knowledge that Koreans have about adoptees and the utter disrespect and care they have for our families. We adoptees and families are not a shame. THIS is a shame.

I am so lucky that my mother found ME because I cannot imagine having to put up with this shit.

5 responses to “Here we go again … and again …

  1. I agree that translation is a basic concept. My adoption agency had a Korean language website and no translation. Weirdly, I stumbled upon the English language website by pure accident and it had a completely different url and host name. Luckily I even found it because that is how I was reconnected to my birth mother. I don’t know, but perhaps Korean nationals who run those sites figure that if adoptees really want to find their connections that they’ll learn the hangul necessary to navigate it? Pretty chauvinistic if you ask me.

  2. So true! It really is a shame how hard it is to get ANY information about birth parent searches. I have had to be so persistent with my adoption agency just to get the most meager tidbits of information about my birth mom.

    Thank you so much, Jane, for posting all of these photos and stories. Even if Korea’s resources for adoptees and their families are pretty sad at this point, it makes me really happy that YOU are such a great advocate for us.🙂

  3. Thank you Jane for posting these examples. I will print them out, and study them. I planned to go to KCARE and meet them, check a few things out. If they are also so inept perhaps a little butt kicking from a “friend” will help. I need some work, maybe I could get hired to straighten some crap out.
    The Korean War Baby is an equal opportunity butt kicker. After complaining about MY EMAILS being kicked back as “undeliverable” because of all the staff of one AA using one Darn “hotmail.com” email box. They are supposed to have fixed that. I will see by GOD, that they DID.

    Keep you posted.

  4. What Mica said.

    Your work, back with GAIPS and now, sadly, AGAIN, just shows me how big your heart it and how large your commitment: learning Korean, working on these translations, living here, and never forgetting about all the other adoptees whose exclusion never seems to end.

    The entire adopted Korean diaspora, both present and future, owe you a mass hug.

    I’m glad your mom found you, too!

    <3<3<3

  5. Yung Hee KIM

    The whole language barrier ‘wall’ is frustrating and disheartening. I attempted to take an intro Korean class at the local university here. The teacher was hard to understand as English was not his first language; much of his teaching involved underlining Korean phrases written on the chalkboard over and over again. Unfortunately my only foreign (the irony, my own birth language being foreign to me) language experience is with some Latin and Spanish–so completely different from Korean😦 Trying to absorb a language that is unlike anything I know. The teacher was even drawing a simple profile of the human mouth to explain where the tongue hits the roof of the mouth for certain sounds! The combination of overwhelming oral, visual and auditory stimuli was so frustrating to attempt to take on all at once. To make matters worse, there were three native Korean students in the class (intro Korean?) whom the teacher would converse with regularly leaving the rest of us in the dark. In addition, I have very strong skills in English language, literature, grammar and composition but to learn Korean I will need to start at the level of a very young child. I have also attempted the Rosetta Stone program for Korean and found that it just moved too fast for me. Boy, do I feel inept.

Thank you for visiting my blog. I no longer have time to update this blog regularly, but I appreciate your comments, even though I cannot respond to all of them. All comments (except spam) have been allowed to go through unmoderated since June 16, 2014. Any comments you see prior to that date have been read and approved by me. Thanks again, and wishing you peace and blessings.

