The horrible health check

Public complaining: The only reason why I submit to the horrible military-style annual health check  is because it is required by my company. We get in trouble if we don’t do it.

I don’t like drinking radioactive milkshake, being spun around and poked, and having all kinds of X-rays go through me, having people do all kinds of unnecessary procedures with all kinds of huge scary machines, and wasting two hours of my time at about 17 stations freaking out young Korean women every time because my Korean language sucks. Mainly I blow off the giggling and embarrassment, so I don’t get mad, but let’s face it, it’s not fun being the catalyst of other people’s embarrassment. It gets old.

I’m only 37 but because they like to do unnecessary procedures, I got to have my second mammogram today.  So while I had my tit clamped down in this machine so hard I almost cried, mammo lady, who was speaking Korean, was asking me how to say “heori” in English.

“Waist.”

“How do say heori in English?”

“Waist! It hurts! Hurry up!”

If I were not immobilized by pain and connected to a machine by my two-dimensional tit at that time, I would have gone over there and punched her in the face. This is not time for your English lesson, lady!!

I hate the company health check. I hate it, I hate it, I hate it.

See you next year at Hanaro health center, hateful  mammo lady.

On the other hand, at least it is free for me to have unncessary procedures done. In the U.S., I’m sure I would not be so lucky to even have access to necessary procedures. We have national healthcare in Korea.  That is a good thing.

3 responses to “The horrible health check

  1. OK, I’m really sorry you went through that, but really happy you wrote about it, because I snorted sprite through my nose when you were giving the mammo lady an English lesson and wishing to give her a boxing lesson!

  2. omg – i haven’t had my tits in a vice grip for about two years. i was picturing you being a cartoon character (like stretch armstrong – er, titstrong) and just reaching around the machine and giving it to her!

    fortunately, i wasn’t drinking sprite at the time…

  3. “If I were not immobilized by pain and connected to a machine by my two-dimensional tit at that time, I would have gone over there and punched her in the face. This is not time for your English lesson, lady!!”

    I know this isn’t really funny at all, but your sentence about punching her in the face made me laugh SO HARD.

Thank you for visiting my blog. I no longer have time to update this blog regularly, but I appreciate your comments, even though I cannot respond to all of them. All comments (except spam) have been allowed to go through unmoderated since June 16, 2014. Any comments you see prior to that date have been read and approved by me. Thanks again, and wishing you peace and blessings.

