Guest Columnist from Impoverished Women’s News

This article from Impoverished Women’s News has been translated from its original language into English for the benefit of our readers. This week’s guest columnist, writing in celebration of the upcoming Halloween holiday, is a very well-adjusted international, interracial, adolescent adoptee.

Happy Halloween

by 소펔유

When I was a baby, I was adopted internationally by a family that is of a different culture than where I come from, and that is of a different race than I am. But my adoptive parents help me keep in touch with my roots.

For example, about once every couple of weeks we eat together at a restaurant where they serve ethnic foods like bread and steak. When we go to the restaurant, I can see Caucasian people who look like me. My parents try to speak English to them so they can understand what we want to eat. They cook food for us and bring it to our table.  I like Caucasian people because they make good food. Bread is yummy. It is my favorite food.

On weekends I go to culture school. There I learn various culture like how to make bread. I can shake hands and eat with a fork and knife and other traditional customs. I also learn about traditional holidays of my birth country, like Halloween. I think Halloween is fun because you can pretend to be someone you’re not.

We also learn to write the alphabet of our birth country, like A B C D G P. I can say some phrases in my native language. For instance:
“Hi.”

“It’s nice meet you.”

“What country do you come?”

“I am student.”

“Byebye.”

I think my language skills will come in really handy if I visit my birth country someday.

My favorite part of cultural classes is the dancing. Dancing is fun and it is traditional in my birth culture. We are learning the Square Dance. I hope that if someday I go back to my birth country, I will be accepted more because I can Square Dance.

I am a little worried, though, about going back to my birth country. That’s because secretly, Caucasian grown-ups scare me. I think that is bad to say and my parents would be sad if they knew I felt like that because they want me to be bicultural. But I have never been alone with Caucasian adults, and when I meet them in the restaurant, they talk to me in a way I can’t understand. They talk really fast and they make all these gestures. What is that.

I have some adopted friends who are Caucasian. I like hanging out with them because they know how I feel. I have this one friend whose dad says things like “cracker” in front of her, like if he gets mad at the TV or they get bad service in the restaurant, and that makes her sad. I’m sure glad I don’t have parents like that.

For the Halloween celebration at my culture school I’m going to dress up in native Caucasian dress. I will probably wear my beautiful Square Dance costume. I will probably get lots of traditional candy that Caucasian people eat.

Next week we are having a big celebration to greet a new Caucasian baby that is coming home to her adoptive family. I am sure glad that she will have a forever family to love her now. All my friends who are Caucasian have parents of the majority race. So when I meet real Caucasian people or Caucasian kids who were raised by real Caucasian people, I feel like, wow, I hope you’re not going to invite me to your house because if you serve anything but bread and steak, I don’t know what I’ll eat!!  (That’s because really, I only like bread and steak. Most of the other food kind of grosses me out.) 

I am interested in boys, but not Caucasian boys. I know some but they are kind of wimpy and nerdy. I suppose not all of them are like that, but when I get married, I think I’ll probably marry someone who’s more like my dad, not a wimpy nerdy Caucasian guy. Maybe someday I will also adopt a Caucasian baby from its country so it can have the opportunity to grow up with a real family with a mom and dad. I think every baby deserves that opportunity. I could give a baby a lot of love and opportunities. I am proud to be part of my adoptive country! I am happy to have a family who loves me!

 Happy Halloween!

7 responses to “Guest Columnist from Impoverished Women’s News

  1. She’s bayuck! Love it even though it makes me squirm. Or maybe because it does. :)

  2. This really hits home, thanks, Jane.

  3. hee! Great post.

  4. This post is great but I was wondering why you chose the word Caucasian in the translation? I prefer white to Caucasian because of the term’s roots in biological racism, as well as the obvious preference of the scientist that coined the term:

    I have taken the name of this variety from Mount Caucasus, both because its neighborhood, and especially its southern slope, produces the most beautiful race of men

    Other than that though this is great post! I love how the roles have been switched.

  5. Yes you are right, the word has its roots in race science. I did think about it for awhile… hm… in satire written to a white audience, which would be more effective — Caucasian or white? Ultimately I settled for Caucasian because I think the folks whom I really want to reach with a little satire like this can stomach “Caucasian” better. However, I wonder if it worked? I mean, when people read this, why are they amused as opposed to completely horrified??

  6. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  7. This really hit it smack on the head. As the mother of two girls adopted from China, it made me squirm… and then feel a little superior, because this is very different from the way we’re raising our kids (they’re in a Chinese immersion school, have a good deal of contact with Chinese adults, including some who are parenting children), and we’ve tried to incorporate the culture into our lives so that it is just part of the way we live. I hope that doesn’t sound insufferable! But I know too many a-families whose lives are uncomfortably close to this. What really burns me is when the a-parents say things like, “I wish my kids were interested in (fill-in-the-blank) culture, but they’re more interested in (dance, fitting in, fill-in-the-blank)” or worse yet, “We’ll follow her lead, if she is interested.”

    Thank you for your work. It has helped in the evolution of my thinking.

Thank you for visiting my blog. I no longer have time to update this blog regularly, but I appreciate your comments, even though I cannot respond to all of them. All comments (except spam) have been allowed to go through unmoderated since June 16, 2014. Any comments you see prior to that date have been read and approved by me. Thanks again, and wishing you peace and blessings.

